I am ashamed of my clothes

Dear  globalcounselor,

I am a 15 year old  newcomer to Canada.  I am from Nepal. My family is poor. My mom and dad are in school and I am in school.  I am feeling kindda strange in my class because I am wearing clothes that are not cool and fashionable. The children stare at me and I know they are talking about my clothes which we bought from Value Village.  All the other girls are wearing fashionable clothes from expensive stores. I begged my mom to buy me some nice clothes but she said she did not have money, that we have to use the money for food. I did not want to go to school. I feel like a poor person.  I asked my mom if I can work for money and she said I cannot that I am too young that Child and Family Services will take me away from them.  How can I get nice clothes to go to school?

Ashamed

Dear Ashamed,

You have to walk before you can run.  Have patience and you will get everything you want one day.   You are a newcomer.  Most newcomers struggle for the first few years until they get jobs.   Your parents have enough to worry about trying to settle and put food on the table. Try and show some appreciation for what they are going through.  Your real friends will appreciate you no matter what you wear. You can also find really good clothes at Value Village.  No one needs to  know where you get your clothes. Just put your clothes on, hold your head high and be proud of yourself.  You have to respect yourself before others will respect you.  When you are 16 you will be able to work for money and then you will be able to buy some of the things you love.  In the meantime try to be content with what you have.

Leave a Reply

